top of page

MAC DEMARCO Announces New Album 'Here Comes The Cowboy' + New Single 'Nobody'

Updated: Mar 25, 2019

Mac DeMarco will release his fourth full-length album, Here Comes The Cowboy, on May 10th. The follow-up to 2017’s This Old Dog, which featured “the best romantic tunes the well-known romantic has ever penned” (Entertainment Weekly), Here Comes The Cowboy is the debut release on Mac’s Record Label, released via Spunk Records / Caroline Australia. In conjunction with today’s announcement, he shares the waltzing lead single, “Nobody,” and an accompanying self-directed video. 

As described by DeMarco, “This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.

For Here Comes The Cowboy, Mac  once again partners with Spunk Records for Australia, who released Mac Demarco’s first four albums, Rock and Roll Nightclub, 2, Salad Days and Another One

Here Comes The Cowboy was written, tracked and mixed at DeMarco’s Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January, 2019. Nearly every instrument on the album was played by DeMarco, aside from keyboards on select tracks by touring member and close friend Alec Meen. Traveling sound engineer, Joe Santarpia, helped shape the record, sharing engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco. The rusty old grinning pin on the front (see below) and back covers of the record was purchased from a man in the mountains somewhere in the Nantahala National Forest between Chattanooga, TN and Asheville, NC.

Mac DeMarco - Here Comes The Cowboy Released May 10 via Mac's Record Label / Spunk Records / Caroline Australia

Pre Order Album

Here Comes The Cowboy Tracklist 1. Here Comes The Cowboy 2. Nobody 3. Finally Alone 4. Little Dogs March 5. Preoccupied 6. Choo Choo 7. K 8. Heart to Heart 9. Hey Cowgirl 10. On the Square 11. All of Our Yesterdays 12. Skyless Moon 13. Baby Bye Bye


bottom of page