APRA AMCOS announce the nominees for the 2019 APRA Music Awards

The nominations are in! Today, APRA AMCOS is proud to announce the nominees for the 2019 APRA Music Awards, the annual event that celebrates excellence in contemporary music and honours songwriters and music publishers that have achieved outstanding success in their fields.

In a category that is 100% determined by APRA songwriter and publisher members, the final five contenders for the prestigious Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Yearcan now be revealed.

Joel Ma (Joelistics) and first-time nominees Mojo Juju and Rita Seumanutafa are nominated for Native Tongue, performed by Mojo Juju. Another songwriter receiving her first nomination is Angie McMahon, who secured peer support for her song Slow Mover. McMahon just took out the prestigious SXSW Grulke Prize for developing artists at the annual US music conference. Receiving back-to-back nods in the Song of the Year category is Ainslie Wills, who with co-writers Bram Inscore and MoZella, has been nominated for Society, a track written at SongHubs The Tower in 2017. Last year’s Song of the Year recipient and songwriting luminary Paul Kelly is nominated for With the One I Love, the first single from his recent LP, Nature. And appearing for the third consecutive year in the Song of the Year category is Amy Shark, this time with I Said Hi, a punchy, melodic anthem which was the lead track from Shark’s debut chart-topping album Love Monster.

Leading all contenders is last year’s Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, Sarah Aarons, with four nominations. Aarons continues to consolidate her reputation as a global hit-maker, thanks to high-profile collaborations with Peking Duk, The Rubens and co-writing credits on the Zedd worldwide smash Stay, and the Grammy-nominated The Middle. Amy Shark and 2019 Young Australian of the Year Danzal Baker, professionally known as Baker Boy, have three nominations a-piece.

Featuring a dynamic group of emerging songwriters that are having huge success both here and abroad are the five nominees for the Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year. They are hip-hop standout Danzal Baker (Baker Boy), global sensation Dean Lewis, multi-talented drummer-singer-songwriter Georgia Flipo (G Flip), Holly Rankin, who writes and performs as the psych-pop solo artist Jack River, and Tash Sultana, an explosive live artist who has commanded global attention and continues to sell out major arenas around the world. The winner will be determined by the APRA Board of Directors. 

Dual APRA Music Awards nominees for 2019 include PNAU, Vance Joy, Sheppard, Tash Sultana, Morgan Evans, Jack Ladder, Angie McMahon, and five-piece alternative rock band The Rubens, who are nominated twice in the Rock Work of the Year category. 

Other nominees include 2019 triple j Hottest 100 winners Ocean Alley, Hilltop Hoods, Bliss n Eso, Thundamentals, Sia, Peking Duk, Kasey Chambers, Angus & Julia Stone, Tori Forsyth, Kim Churchill, Gang of Youths, Jon Hume, The Wolfe Brothers and more. Phew! 

Two more awards, decided by the APRA Board of Directors, will be announced at the ceremony - Songwriter of the Year and the Overseas Recognition Award. The Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music, Most Played Australian Work Overseas and Licensee of the Year will also be presented at the2019 APRA Music Awards on Tuesday 30 April at Melbourne Town Hall.

Returning to host the APRA Music Awards is acclaimed Melbourne writer, performer, comedian, producer and broadcaster Brian Nankervis. Among his many credits, Nankervis was a regular on Hey Hey It's Saturday, he was the co-creator of the beloved SBS music trivia show, RocKwiz, and he can be heard on ABC Radio’s weekly program The Friday Revue. As previously announced, Kate Miller-Heidke will be this year's musical director.

2019 APRA MUSIC AWARDS NOMINEES  Stream the playlists on Spotify and Apple Music

Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year

Title: I Said Hi Artist: Amy Shark Writer: Amy Shark Publishers: Mushroom Music obo UNIFIED Music Publishing

Title: Native Tongue Artist: Mojo Juju Writers: Mojo Juju / Joel Ma* / Rita Seumanutafa Publisher: Mushroom Music*

Title: Slow Mover Artist: Angie McMahon Writer: Angie McMahon Publisher: Kobalt Music Publishing

Title: With The One I Love Artist: Paul Kelly Writer: Paul Kelly Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year

Writer: Danzal Baker pka Baker Boy

Writer: Dean Lewis Publisher: Kobalt Music Publishing obo Specific Music

Writer: Georgia Flipo pka G Flip Publisher: Kobalt Music Publishing obo Future Classic

Writer: Holly Rankin pka Jack River Publisher: Mushroom Music

Writer: Tash Sultana Publisher: Kobalt Music Publishing obo Tash Sultana  

Most Played Australian Work  

Title: Coming Home Artist: Sheppard Writers: Jason Bovino / Amy Sheppard / George Sheppard / Matthew Radosevich* / Christopher Wallace* Publishers: Mushroom Music obo Empire of Song / Native Tongue Music Publishing* 

Title: Go Bang                           Artist: PNAU              Writers: Nick Littlemore / Sam Littlemore* / Peter Mayes / Luke Steele^        Publishers: Universal Music Publishing / 120 Publishing* / Sony/ATV Music Publishing^ 

Title: I Said Hi                            Artist: Amy Shark                                  Writer: Amy Shark           Publishers: Mushroom Music obo UNIFIED Music Publishing 

Title: The Middle                       Artist: Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey           Writers: Sarah Aarons / Jordan Johnson* / Stefan Johnson^ / Marcus Lomax* / Kyle Trewartha+ Michael Trewartha+ / Anton Zaslavski+          Publishers: Sony/ATV Music Publishing Allegro / BMG Rights Management* / Kobalt Music Publishing^ / Universal/MCA Music Publishing+

Title: We’re Going Home                                   Artist: Vance Joy                         Writers: James Keogh / Daniel Wilson*      Publishers: Mushroom Music obo UNIFIED Music Publishing / BMG Rights Management* 

Country Work of the Year

Title: Ain’t Seen It Yet Artist: The Wolfe Brothers               Writers: Brodie Rainbird / Nicholas Wolfe / Thomas Wolfe / Erik Anderson*            Publishers: Perfect Pitch Publishing / Peermusic*